Skiing @ Stowe Mountain Resort

Peony Famr Northfield

Rock of Ages Granite Quarry, Barre

Central Vermont

Central Vermont Has Much to Offer Visitors—From Eateries to Ski Resorts and 4- Season Attractions

In Northfield, VT

EATERIES/FOOD

Carrier Roasting https://carrierroasting.com/

Coffee bar, baked goods and roastery

Convenience Plus Redemption & Deli https://www.facebook.com/convenienceplus1/

Vermont Liquor Store, deli and gas

Cornerstone Burger Co. https://cornerstoneburger.com/

Burgers, street food, salads, craft beer and catering services.

Depot Square Pizzeria http://www.depotsquarepizzeria.com/

Falls Country Store https://fallsgeneralstore.com/

Green Mountain Girls Farm Stand http://eatstayfarm.com/eat/shop-our-farm-stand/

Just down the road from the Guesthouse, year round sales of pasture raised meats, organic vegetables, and eggs

Northfield Farmers Market https://www.northfieldfarmersmarketvt.org/

O’Maddi’s Deli & Café http://www.omaddis.com/

Breakfast and lunch, bakery items, and catering

The Woods Lodge https://thewoodsvt.com/index.html

Dining room and tavern with special events, and catering

Tops Friendly Super Market http://www.topsmarkets.com/

 

SHOPPING & SERVICES

Community Bank https://cbna.com/

Kenyons True Value https://stores.truevalue.com/vt/northfield/17663/

Trombly's Flower Shop and Gifts https://www.tromblysflowershopvt.com/

Northfield Savings Bank https://www.nsbvt.com/

Northfield Pharmacy http://www.northfieldpharmacy.com/

 

ATTRACTIONS

Norwich University https://www.norwich.edu/

Established in 1819, NU is the nation’s oldest private military college and birthplace of ROTC.

Visitor highlights include the Kreitzberg Library, the Sullivan Museum and History Center, Adams Carillon Tower, Kreitzberg Ice Hockey Arena, and the Shaw Outdoor Center.

 

Northfield Country Club https://www.northfieldcountryclub.com/

Nine-hole golf course open to the public

Five Covered Bridges https://www.facebook.com/pages/Northfield-Falls-Covered-Bridge/133549050057423

In Brookfield, VT (7 miles from the Guesthouse)

ATTRACTIONS

Allis State Park https://vtstateparks.com/allis.html

Baker Pond (largemouthbass fishing) https://vtfishandwildlife.com/fish/fishing-opportunities/family-friendly-fishing/baker-pond-brookfield

Sunset Lake Floating Bridge https://www.brookfieldvt.org/event/floating-bridge-celebration/?instance_id=803

In Montpelier, VT (10 miles from the Guesthouse)

EATERIES

J Morgan’s Steakhouse https://www.capitolplaza.com/jMorgans.php

Steaks and seafood in the Capitol Plaza Hotel

Julio’s Cantina http://www.julioscantina.com/

Mexican Cuisine & Margarita Bar

Mad Taco https://www.themadtaco.com/locations/montpelier

Mexican and modern Latin cuisine

NECI on Main https://www.neci.edu/our-restaurants.php?tab=6

Farm-to-Table cuisine run by New England Culinary Institute

Royal Orchid Restaurant http://www.royalorchidthaivt.com/

Thai cuisine

Sarducci’s Restaurant & Bar http://sarduccis.com/

Italian cuisine

Three Penny Taproom https://www.threepennytaproom.com/

Craft food and craft beer

Wayside Restaurant, Bakery & Creamery https://www.waysiderestaurant.com/

Yankee Cooking at its Best

 

ATTRACTIONS

Caledonia Spirits Distillery & Bar https://caledoniaspirits.com/

Hubbard Park https://www.montpelier-vt.org/238/Hubbard-Park

North Branch Nature Center https://northbranchnaturecenter.org/

TW Wood Art Gallery https://www.twwoodgallery.org/

Vermont State House https://statehouse.vermont.gov/tours

Self and guided individual and group tours available of Vermont’s capitol.

Vermont History Museum https://vermonthistory.org/museum/

In Barre, VT (15 miles from Guesthouse)

EATERIES

Asian Gourmet https://www.beyondmenu.com/28665/barre/asian-gourmet-barre-05641.aspx

Cornerstone Pub & Kitchen https://cornerstonepk.com/

Ladder 1 Grill http://www.ladder1grill.com/

The Quarry Kitchen & Spirits http://quarrykitchen.com/

 

 

ATTRACTIONS

Barre Opera House https://barreoperahouse.org/

1899 theater hosts 70-100 performing arts events annually

Hope Cemetery https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/hope-cemetery

Established in 1895, the cemetery is a tribute to the artistry and craftsmanship of Barre’s stone cutters and artisans interred amongst the sculptures they created.

Millstone Trails Association http://www.millstonetrails.org/

Network of non-motorized recreational trails traversing 1500 acres. A favorite of mountain bikers.

Rock of Ages Granite Quarries, Visitors Center & Museum https://rockofages.com/tourism/

See the world’s deepest dimensional quarry, and learn about the history Barre Grey granite.

Vermont Granite Museum & Stone Arts School https://www.vtgranitemuseum.org/

Discover the heritage and current accomplishments of Vermont’s granite industry through tours, exhibits, and events for all ages from May-October.

In Randolph, VT (20 miles from the Guesthouse)

EATERIES:

Black Krim Tavern https://theblackkrimtavern.com/

Farm-to-Table cuisine, dinner and bar

Saap Restaurant https://saaprestaurant.com/

Northern Thai cuisine, lunch and dinner, bar and take out

 

ATTRACTIONS:

Chandler Center for the Arts https://www.chandler-arts.org/

Historic music hall and art gallery offers musical events, plays and festivals

Montague Golf Course http://www.montaguegolf.com/

18- hole, 6300-yard links course, open to the public

Vermont Technical College https://www.vtc.edu/

In Waterbury & Stowe VT (27 miles/36 miles)

ATTRACTIONS:

Ben & Jerry’s Factory Tour https://www.benjerry.com/about-us/factory-tours

Bolton Valley Resort https://www.boltonvalley.com/

Cold Hollow Cider Mill https://www.coldhollow.com/

Stowe Mountain Resort https://www.stowe.com/

In Waitsfield, VT (20 miles)

ATTRACTIONS:

Mad River Glen Ski Area https://www.madriverglen.com/

Sugarbush Resort https://www.sugarbush.com/

Sugarbush Soaring https://sugarbushsoaring.com/
Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm https://icelandichorses.com/